School Council

2019 - 2020 School Council

Colleen O'BrienPrincipal 
Shelley Griffin        Chairperson
L'anse au Clair Parent Representative
Angela Normore                  Vice-Chairperson 
L'anse au Loup Parent Representative
Colleen PikePinware Parent Representative
 Janice NormoreL'anse au Loup
Community Representative
 English Point / Forteau
Community Representative
 Nadine Normore Teacher Representative
Cheyanne Normore Student Representative
 Naomi Butt Student Representative

The Schools Act, 1997 recognized and reaffirmed the right of parents and the community to have input into the education of their children through mandated school councils. This legislation provided the basis for a more responsive school system (see Appendix A). Sections 25 and 26 of the Schools Act, 1997 provide the legislative authority for the provision of school councils for the province of Newfoundland and Labrador. Section 26(2) (7) of the Schools Act, 1997 also grants legal authority to school boards to delegate additional responsibilities to the school councils under their jurisdiction. The concept of school councils is not new, nor is it unique. The evolution of school councils in Newfoundland and Labrador is part of a worldwide momentum to involve parents and communities more directly in the life and work of schools, and is a reflection of this province’s emphasis on achieving improvement in education through local collaboration and greater accountability. School councils are school, family and community partnerships. They bring together education professionals, parents, students and other community members and build on the collective knowledge, skills, abilities, interests and resources to enhance the education and development of children. The collaborative efforts of school councils have had a positive influence in improving the teaching and learning environment for the children in the schools they serve.